About the Skaneateles Area Arts Council (SKARTS):

The mission of SKARTS is to celebrate the visual and performing arts by creating an environment where cultural activity thrives in our community.  SKARTS presents cultural programming, along with annual free SKARTS ‘N the Park concerts in the gazebo in Clift Park.  The 10-year-old organization awards community support grants to artists and arts organizations in Skaneateles and Central NY.

SKARTS also presents Grammy-winning, nationally-known performing artists with Gala Concerts by the lake, hosts the Creative Conversation Series, and plans re-launching of the successful Fall 2015 Artist Studio Tour in October.

Photos below are from last year’s Gala fundraiser, featuring Grammy-Award winning singer/songwriter, Melissa Manchester.  SKARTS has produced free SKARTS ‘N the Park concerts in Clift Park in Skaneateles right next to the Gazebo in the Village.  In addition SKARTS launched a series entitled “Creative Conversations,” featuring successful local artists in a wide variety of fields.  Pictured at below is a photo of world-famous young adult literature author, Bruce Coville, being interviewed by artist and author, Patience Brewster.

The Skaneateles Area Arts Council is a 501(c)3 not-for profit organization.

MM2 croppedMelissa Manchester performs at SKARTS’ annual fundraiser, which raises money to support the arts in the Skaneateles area.   (Photo credit: James Peluso.)

FiliciaIt was a festive night at the Gala!                                         (Photo credit: James Peluso.)

Crowd and BandstandThe free SKARTS ‘N the Park concert last year featured Los Blancos and the crowd loved it!

Crowd and LakeIt was an unforgettable night!

Artist Patience Brewster led the Conversation with her friend and colleague, Bruce Coville.

Artist Patience Brewster led the Conversation with her friend and colleague, Bruce Coville.

SKARTS’ series, Creative Conversations, has featured notable local artists, writers and performers including Bruce Coville, Patience Brewster, Laura Austin, David Ying and Elinor Freer.

SKARTS’ board of directors includes Jean Vincent – Acting President, Holland Gregg, III – Past President, Fouad Dietz – Vice President, Jack Rudnick – Vice President, Katie McDowell – Secretary,  Barbara Connor, MD, Sandy Ezzo, Rachel Harms, Judith McGinn, Laurel Moranz, Sarah Panzarella, Chiara Kuhns, Paul Cowley, Sandra Schmidt, Bettina Smallman, MD, Barbara Bolton-Smith, Joseph Strodel, Jr. – President Emeritus, and Gail van der Linde

Advisory Board:

Julie Abbott, Gina Castro, Michael Connor, Donna Davis, Jeffrey Davis, Bill Eberhardt, Darlene Kerr, Robert Kiltz, M.D., Patricia R. Lauri, Stacia Landsberg, Ellen Leahy, Kathy Palmieri, Philippe Schwimmer, Gary Robinson, Carl Schramm and Susan Wolstenholme

Comments are closed.